Zur Startseite

Felsgegürtet, weinumrankt...

Girdled by boulders, entwined by vines... Thus begins one of the many hymns to the wine village of Winningen. Nowhere else is winegrowing as scenically impressive and yet infinitely difficult for the winegrowers. On steep, towering vineyard terraces, the superior Riesling vine grows in ideal conditions. During the night-time, the rocky slate soil and the rough boulders give off the warmth they stored during the day. The grapes are indulged around the clock.

The best location is the Winninger Uhlen. With a slope of almost 65°, it is among the steepest vineyards in Germany. This is also the home of the Apollo butterfly – a friend of the winegrowers. Thanks to the winegrowers' environmentally-conscious behaviour, the butterfly has even managed to proliferate over the past few years

The Riesling is the finest white wine and is the reason for the good reputation of Winningen wine. Its small, almost plain-looking grapes mature extremely late – often right into November.

Whether wine or sparkling wine, whether sweet or classically dry – why not go on a voyage of discovery and get to know the different specialities during a wine tasting session. The Riesling is omnipresent. Its racy, fruity taste, the wonderful peach aroma and the greenish iridescent colour have enchanted everyone so far and turn them into a lover of Winningen wine.

The red wine is also worth a temptation. It was forbidden for centuries. Now you can enjoy it again!

Zur Startseite

Felsgegürtet, weinumrankt...

...so beginnt eine der vielen Hymnen auf den Weinort Winningen. Nirgendwo ist Weinbau landschaftlich so beeindruckend und doch unendlich schwierig für die Winzer. Auf steil sich übereinander türmenden Weinbergsterrassen wächst die edle Rieslingrebe und findet hier optimale Voraussetzungen. Der steinige Schieferboden und die schroffen Felsen geben nachts die Wärme wieder ab, die sie tagsüber gespeichert haben. Die Trauben werden rund um die Uhr verwöhnt.

Die beste Lage ist der Winninger Uhlen. Mit einer Neigung von fast 65° gehört er zu den steilsten Weinbergen Deutschlands. Hier ist auch der Apollofalter zu Hause – ein Freund der Winzer. Durch deren umweltgerechtes Verhalten konnte er sich in den letzten Jahren sogar vermehren.

Der Riesling ist die edelste Weißweinrebe und hat den guten Ruf des Winninger Weins begründet. Seine kleinen, fast unscheinbaren Beeren reifen extrem spät – oft bis in den November hinein.

Ob Wein oder Sekt, ob edelsüß oder klassisch trocken – gehen Sie auf Entdeckungsreise und lernen Sie die unterschiedlichen Spezialitäten bei einer Weinprobe kennen. Der Riesling ist allgegenwärtig. Seine rassige, fruchtige Art, das herrliche Pfirsicharoma und die grünlich schillernde Farbe konnten schon jeden verzaubern und zum Liebhaber des Winninger Weins machen.

Eine Versuchung wert ist auch der Rotwein. Jahrhunderte lang war er verboten gewesen. Nun dürfen Sie ihn wieder genießen!