Zur Startseite

History

Winningen – from the history of a long-established wine village

The beautiful wine village of Winningen is located only a few kilometres away from the Deutsches Eck, where the river Mosel flows into the Rhine.

Winegrowing is a century-old tradition in Winningen. During excavations in the area around the church, tools were discovered that indicate a settlement of the village over 3,000 years ago. The excavation of a Roman villa on Winningen Hill is accessible to the public.

In 871, Winningen was mentioned in a document for the first time, when Ludwig II confirmed the bestowal of vineyards of the nobleman Otbert and his wife Hildegardis to Prüm Abbey. The properties include, among others, the cathedral chapter of Aachen, the St. Martin Abbey in Cologne and the cathedral chapter of Bamberg. This is evidence of the high value of Winningen winegrowing even in ancient times.

However, the sovereigns also levied feudal duties of 40 bushels from the district early on.

The origins of Germany's oldest vintage festival can be traced back to these feudal duties. In 1551, there was a particularly successful vintage, and the feudal lord celebrated this with a sumptuous banquet together with the population – the first vintage festival was born.

Winningen was initially under the rule of the Count Palatine of the Rhine, who thus enfeoffed the Counts of Sayn. Through inheritance, the rule later fell to the Counts of Sponheim, who introduced Lutheran teachings in Winningen in 1557. To this day, Winningen is a Protestant enclave in strictly Catholic surroundings. The Winningen Church, a Romanesque building from the 12th century, henceforth served a different religious faith.

An important date in Winningen history soon followed. On 29 September 1579, the then Prince Regnant submitted to the Winninger's desire for freedom and abolished serfdom with the Letter of Freedom. With this, the Winningers were free citizens – but were still required to pay an extraordinary tax for the next 12 years.

Hard times followed during the course of the next decades. The plague in the years 1597 and 1598 claimed 206 lives in Winningen, and around 130 lives in 1611. In 1612, the village had only 250 residents. They had only just overcome this fate when the Thirty Years' War began. Murder, pillage and looting were suffered constantly by the population, when foreign soldiers occupied the village. Oftentimes, Winningen's citizens were forced to hide for months at a time in the forest in order to avoid the despotism of marauding soldiers. The citizens in the neighbouring villages were also less than humane towards the Winningers, who had a different religious belief. An entry in the church register states: "God forgive the soldiers and evil neighbours for their wantonness towards the church, and bring us the longed-for peace".

When the war was finally over, the persecution of witches became a terrible scourge. The belief in witches and sorcerers had taken root in people's souls like a disease. During the years 1630-1661, 21 men and women in Winningen became victims of the witch hunts. A memorial on the Heidelberg today acts a reminder of the darkest era of superstition.

The rule of the Counts of Sponheim continued to 1794, when the French occupied the Rhineland. Hard times were to follow for the Winningen citizens yet again, as the village was occupied by French troops. Conditions improved in 1801, when peace finally came and the cession of the left bank of the Rhine to France was officially sanctioned. The citizens soon became used to the new conditions – and several new terms even proved advantageous. Thus, the citizens were liberated from a heavy load with the abolition of the tithe and third of grapes. The consolidation of the large pastoral property and its sale provided the opportunity for many citizens to purchase their own plots and vineyards. These advantages of the new era were much appreciated by the Winningers. When the Napoleonic era was over, the village was placed under Prussian administration in 1815. The following century provided the village with peaceful times and gradual advancement. Winningen became larger and community life took hold. In 1838, Winningen's first male choir association was founded.

The year 1879 represented a significant event. The Mosel railway line Coblenz – Trier was opened and Winning was connected to the transport network. Trade and transport developed into an economic focus of the municipality. The population increased and forced the municipality to build new roads. Community life also began to flourish. The sports association and the fire brigade were founded in the nineties; the music association followed in 1902. But the times of peace were to end soon.

Many citizens of Winningen lost their lives on the battlefield during the First and Second World Wars. A memorial in the cemetery pays tribute to the numerous victims. The Nazi regime was also omnipresent in Winningen, and split the population. Denunciation, persecution and deportation of innocent people were the result.

Winningen auf alten Postkarten

After the Second World War, life had to continue. A new generation grew up, and it is due to the diligence of the population that tourism quickly became a significant economic factor. Many major facilities were developed, such as shipping piers, the Weinhexbrunnen (wine-witch well), the camping island, a modern lido and the educational wine trail.

Winningen has an honorary citizen: August Horch. The founding father of the Audi factories was born in Winningen on 12 October 1868. After an apprenticeship as a smith in his father's forge, he went on the tramp and subsequently studied in Mittweida, where he took his engineering examination. His first job was at the Benz Company in Mannheim. As early as 1899, he became self-employed in Cologne. In 1901, he relocated to Zwickau. Thanks to his drive, his restless diligence and inventive genius, the Horch factories experienced a swift rise to the top. But in 1909, differences arose within the Horch factories, which had since become a stock company. Horch left the company and founded a new company. In an ironic twist of fate, the management of his former company failed to give him the right to call his new company August Horch. In Latin, Horch means Audi – and this was the name he gave his new company. August Horch died on 3 February 1951 and was buried in the Winningen cemetery. A section in the museum shows insights into the life and works of the famous automobile pioneer.

Zur Startseite

Historie

Winningen – aus der Geschichte eines traditionsreichen Weinortes

Nur wenige Kilometer vom Deutschen Eck entfernt, wo die Mosel in den Rhein mündet, liegt das schöne Weindorf Winningen.

Weinbau ist in Winningen eine jahrhundertealte Tradition. Bei Ausgrabungen um die Kirche wurden Werkzeuge gefunden, die auf eine Besiedlung des Ortes vor über 3000 Jahren schließen lassen. Die Ausgrabung einer römischen Villa auf dem Winninger Berg ist für jeden Gast zugänglich.

Im Jahr 871 wird Winningen erstmals urkundlich erwähnt, als Kaiser Ludwig II. der Abtei Prüm Schenkungen von Weinbergen des Edelmannes Otbert und dessen Gemahlin Hildegardis bestätigte. Begütert waren hier u. a. das Domstift zu Aachen, die Abtei St. Martin in Köln und das Bamberger Domstift. Dies ist ein Beweis für den hohen Wert des Winninger Weinbaus schon in äl-tester Zeit. Allerdings wussten die Landesherren auch schon früh eine hohe Weinbede (Lehnsabgabe) von 40 Fudern aus der Gemarkung zu ziehen.

Die Ursprünge des ältesten Winzerfestes in Deutschland gehen auf diese Abgabe zurück. Im Jahr 1551 gab es eine besonders ertragreiche Weinernte, und der Lehnsherr wusste dies mit einem üppigen Festmahl mit der Bevölkerung zu feiern - das erste Winzerfest war geboren.

Winningen unterstand anfänglich der Herrschaft des Pfalzgrafen vom Rhein, der die Grafen von Sayn damit belehnte. Durch Erbschaft kam die Herrschaft später an die Grafen von Sponheim, die im Jahre 1557 in Winningen die lutherische Lehre einführten. Auch heute noch ist Winningen in einem stark katholischen Umfeld eine protestantische Enklave. Die Winninger Kirche, ein romanischer Bau aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, diente fortan einer anderen Glaubensrichtung.

Ein wichtiges Datum in der Winninger Geschichte folgte bald. Am 29.09.1579 gab der damalige Landesfürst dem Freiheitsdrang der Winninger nach und hob mit dem Freiheitsbrief die Leibeigenschaft auf. Damit waren die Winninger freie Bürger - mussten jedoch 12 Jahre lang eine außerordentliche Steuer bezahlen.

Schwere Zeiten galt es im Laufe der nächsten Jahrzehnte zu bestehen. Die Pest der Jahre 1597 und 1598 forderte in Winningen 206 und die des Jahres 1611 etwa 130 Menschenleben. Der Ort zählte im Jahr 1612 nur noch 250 Einwohner. Kaum war dieses Schicksal überwunden, begann der 30jährige Krieg. Mord, Raub und Plünderung wüteten immer wieder unter der Bevölkerung, wenn fremde Soldaten den Ort besetzten. Oft waren die Winninger Bürger gezwungen, sich monatelang im Wald zu verstecken, um der Willkür marodierender Soldaten zu entgehen. Auch die Bevölkerung der Nachbarorte verhielt sich damals nicht sehr menschlich gegenüber den andersgläubigen Winningern. Ein Eintrag im Kirchenbuch sagt: "Gott verzeihe den Soldaten und bösen Nachbarn ihr an der Kirch verübten muthwillen und bescheere uns den langersehnten Frieden".

War der Krieg nun endlich vorüber, wurde fortan die Hexenverfolgung zu einer furchtbaren Geißel. Der Glaube an Hexen und Zauberer hatte sich wie eine Seuche in die Seele des Volkes eingenistet. In den Jahren 1630 - 1661 fielen 21 Winninger Frauen und Männer dem Hexenwahn zum Opfer. Ein Denkmal auf dem Heideberg erinnert noch heute an die dunkelste Zeit des Aberglaubens.

Die Herrschaft der Grafen von Sponheim dauerte noch bis 1794, als die Franzosen das Rheinland besetzten. Es folgten wiederum schwere Zeiten für die Winninger, weil der Ort von französischen Truppen besetzt wurde. Die Verhältnisse besser-ten sich, als das Jahr 1801 endlich den Frieden brachte, der die Abtretung des linken Rheinufers an Frankreich offiziell sanktionierte. Die Bürgerschaft lebte sich bald in die neuen Verhältnisse ein - und manche neue Einrichtung war sogar von Vorteil. So wurden die Bürger mit der Abschaffung des Zehnten und der Dritteltrauben von einer schweren Last befreit. Die Einbeziehung des großen geistlichen Grundbesitzes und dessen Veräußerung verschaffte manchem Bürger die Möglichkeit zum Erwerb eigenen Ackerlandes und eigener Weinberge. Diese Vorteile der neuen Zeit wussten die Winninger sehr zu schätzen. Als die napoleonische Zeit vorüber war, wurde der Ort 1815 unter preußische Verwaltung gestellt. Das folgende Jahrhundert bescherte dem Ort eine ruhige Zeit der Arbeit und des langsamen Aufstiegs. Winningen wurde größer und das Vereinsleben setzte ein. 1838 gründete sich der erste Männergesangverein Winningens.

Ein bedeutsames Ereignis war das Jahr 1879. Die Mosel-Eisenbahnlinie Koblenz - Trier wurde eröffnet und Winningen an das Verkehrsnetz angeschlossen. Handel und Verkehr entwickelten sich zu einem wirtschaftlichen Schwerpunkt der Gemeinde. Die Einwohnerzahl wurde größer und zwang die Gemeinde zum Neubau von Ortsstraßen. Auch das Vereinsleben blühte auf. Der Turnverein und die Feuerwehr wurden in den neunziger Jahren gegründet, 1902 folgte der Musikverein. Doch die schöne Zeit des Friedens war bald vorüber.

Viele Winninger Bürger ließen im 1. und 2. Weltkrieg ihr Leben auf den Schlachtfeldern der Erde. Ein Mahnmal auf dem Friedhof gedenkt der zahlreichen Opfer. Auch in Winningen war die Naziherrschaft allgegenwärtig und spaltete die Bevölkerung. Es kam zu Denunziation, Verfolgung und Deportation von unschuldigen Menschen.

Winningen auf alten Postkarten

Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg musste es weiter gehen. Eine neue Generation wuchs heran, und es ist dem Fleiß der Bevölkerung zu verdanken, dass sich sehr rasch der Fremdenverkehr zu einem bedeutenden Wirtschaftsfaktor entwickelte. Viele wichtigen Einrichtungen entstanden, wie die Schiffsanlegestellen, der Weinhexbrunnen, die Campinginsel, ein modernes Freibad und der Weinlehrpfad.

Winningen hat einen Ehrenbürger: August Horch. Der Gründer der Audi-Werke wurde am 12.10.1868 in Winningen geboren. Nach einer Schmiedelehre im väterlichen Betrieb ging er auf Wanderschaft und studierte anschließend in Mittweida, wo er seine Ingenieurprüfung ablegte. Seine erste Arbeitsstelle war bei der Firma Benz in Mannheim. Schon 1899 machte er sich in Köln selbstständig. 1901 verlegte er seinen Firmensitz nach Zwickau. Dank seiner Tatkraft, seines rastlosen Fleißes und Erfindergeistes erlebten die Horchwerke einen glanzvollen Aufstieg. 1909 kam es jedoch zu Differenzen innerhalb der Horchwerke, die mittlerweile eine Aktien-Gesellschaft geworden war. Horch schied kurzerhand aus und gründete eine neue Firma. Ironie des Schicksals, versagte die Führung seiner früheren Firma ihm das Recht, seine neue Firma August Horch zu nennen. Horch heißt auf lateinisch Audi - und so nannte er dann seine neue Firma. August Horch starb am 3.2.1951 und liegt auf dem Winninger Friedhof begraben. Eine Abteilung im Museum gibt Einblick in Leben und Wirken des berühmten Autopioniers.